Left to my broken devices – if iTunes gives a fatal error while installing/ un-installing

2009/05/13 § Leave a comment


When judging by the appliances that break down at the moment while I am traveling it really becomes time to go home. I am hardly left with any device working the way it ought to. A recent problem was that either an SD card holding some crucial iTunes data is broken or the drive of my EeePC is not doing its job properly anymore.

I start to feel like I am commanding Apollo 13, fixing life support systems with duct tape and being left in the cold of an eternal cosmos…

Either way, the issue was: I was to de-install iTunes and then put it on my system again. But when I tried to re-install it on another drive it would give me some “fatal error”. Left to my broken devices I tried re-installing, de-installing, un-installing and any other type of installing. Nothing worked. I realized that some program or file was left somewhere hidden in the depth of the Windows XP OS.

Using “regedit” I accessed the registry and deleted everything that even smelled like iTunes, Quicktime, Apple or anything similar. Nothing.

I came across a blog that recommended using a little tool from a Microsoft webpage, and voila! It worked.

Here it is: http://download.microsoft.com/download/e/9/d/e9d80355-7ab4-45b8-80e8-983a48d5e1bd/msicuu2.exe

Even if it seems like you have un-installed iTunes, there may be crap left that you can remove with this little tool. Then you just go ahead and install iTunes anew.

Here is the original blog I found:

http://forums.ilounge.com/archive/index.php/t-198792.html

Good luck!

—-

EeePC 701
Windows XP – “tiny” version
iTunes 7 and/or 8

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Left to my broken devices – if iTunes gives a fatal error while installing/ un-installing at DavidKramer.DK.

meta

